Illinois Board of Higher Education Announces 2021-2022 List of Diversifying Higher Education Faculty Fellows

Issued the following announcement on Oct. 25

The Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) is proud to announce the new list of 103 graduate students in the state’s Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois (DFI) program. Designed to increase diversity among higher education faculty, the DFI program provides financial assistance to students of color pursuing graduate and professional degrees at Illinois public and private institutions.

“Our new strategic plan, A Thriving Illinois: Higher Education Paths to Equity, Sustainability, and Growth, is focused on increasing diversity in higher education here in Illinois,” said IBHE Executive Director Ginger Ostro. “This program is key, as it assists students who will enter the next generation of classroom leadership. After graduation, these fellows will pursue teaching positions in our colleges and universities, or in education-related positions within state government. It’s an important program for the students, for higher education, and for the state’s economy.”

For fiscal year 2022, IBHE is using $1.456 million from its operating budget to support the fellows, who were chosen from 17 participating DFI institutions across the state. Of those fellows, 56 are continuing students and 47 are new recipients. The program has served more than 1,000 students since the program began in 2004.

“I am so honored to be a recipient of DFI and to receive the support to be successful in my career. I believe that having diverse staff and faculty makes a real impact on students who hold marginalized identities, and I look forward to being able to add to that legacy after I graduate,” said Charity Williams, a student at the University of Chicago.

Rosy Cordero is a first-generation student at National-Louis University. “The DFI fellowship has afforded me the opportunity to become the first doctor in my family. Being a DFI fellow has allowed me the capability to pave the way for generations to come. I am grateful for that.”

Arthur Sutton, deputy director of diversity and outreach, said, “We are excited to see the progress of program fellows and their continued contributions to higher education.”

As a condition of the award, recipients agree to accept a teaching or staff position in an Illinois higher education institution or governing board, or an education-related position in a state agency, equal to the number of years the student was a participant in the program.

The DFI Act, enacted in 2004, authorizes the IBHE Board to appoint a DFI program board to establish policies and procedures to administer the program. IBHE staff provide the DFI program leadership and support.

New Fellows

Adler University 
 Chavon Martin
 Kiyara Polk
DePaul University  
 Moriya Hale
 Carlos Roman

Eastern Illinois University  
 Nyjah Lane
 Brandy Matthews

Governors State University
 Jessica Love Jordan-Banks
 Erica Smith
 Kiwana Sanders

Illinois State University  
 LaVance Walker

Loyola University  
 Sharnequa Hunter
 Moriah Johnson
 Janese Nolan

National Louis University  
 Lynne Davis

Northeastern Illinois University  
 Latonya Burris
 Paola Martinez
 Diego Tapia
 Taylor Winfield
 Stacie Ovalle

Northern Illinois University  
 Iddrisu Abdul Razak
 Roderic Moyer
 Eric Junco

Northwestern University
 Karla Campos
 Marlon Millner

Roosevelt University  
 Stacey Garcia Flores Keeling
 Cherelle Newsome
 Segun Olugbode

Southern Illinois University Carbondale  
 Evelyn Aden
 Dakots Discepolo
 Quianya Enge
 Steven Gear
 Jeffrey Payne
 Olivia Slater
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
 Tonicia Boston

University of Chicago
 Joseph Hermitz
 Charity Williams

University of Illinois Chicago  
 Johnetta Anderson
 Brenda Cerda
 LaKrista Cummings
 Yloxochitl Guerrero
 Jennifer Hernandez
 Alexander Pergams
 British Reynolds
 Crystal Wash

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign  
 Jasmine Porter-Rallins
 Yuliana Soto
 Magdelene Thebaud

Returning Fellows

Adler University  
 LaWanda McCraney
 Wuraola Sosina

Aurora University
 Amber Floyd

DePaul University  
 Andrew Calderon
 Jesus Solano-Martinez

Governors State University  
 Michelle Williams

Illinois State University  
 Jamillah Gilbert
 Jacqueline Jouett
 Rosalva Medina
 Jorge Sanchez
 Diana Soriano
 Stacey Wiggins
 Jewel Woodard

National Louis University  
 Rosanna Cordero
 Eric Edwards
 Kim Fields

Northern Illinois University  
 Sharazazi Dyson
 Susana DasNeves
 Sherry Franklin
 DaShae Rodriguez-Harris
 Stephen Samuels

Roosevelt University
 Yolanda Flowers
 Noemi Terrazas
 Lynn Weishaupt

Southern Illinois University Carbondale  
 Daniel VanOverbeke

University of Chicago  
 Cashell Lewis
 Sophia Rhee

University of Illinois at Chicago  
 Derick Anderson
 Jessica Brito
 Benjamin Brown
 Juanita Calvo
 LaShawn Evans
 Glenance Green
 Aide Hernandez
 Andrea Jackson-Sagredo
 Sarah Malone
 Kayla Martensen
 Rafael Moreno
 Brian Osei-Badu
 Jacob Reed
 Kara Simmons
 Ermus St. Louis
 Nancy Toure
 Yesenia Vargas

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign  
 Alishia Alexander
 Chequita Brown
 Jacqueline Guzman
 Tiffany Harris
 Marisol Jimenez
 Miche’le Johnson
 Melanie Marshall
 Zam Nalubega
 Jessica Robinson
 Amari Simpson
 Nathaniel Stewart
 Larry Washington



via Sangamon Sun

October 28, 2021 at 06:48AM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s