Governor signs redistricting bill; LaSalle County to have six state reps

Eight state representatives will represent the WCMY listening area in and close to LaSalle County in the decade starting in 2022. Gov. Pritzker signed the legislative maps into law Friday.

One district will go from the south side of Marseilles to the east side of Streator and eastward to the Indiana state line.

Many Mendota residents will be on the southeast corner of a district that goes all the way to the Mississippi River.

Another will go from Tonica and Lostant to Streator and south to Normal and Bloomington.

Dekalb will be in a district with Ottawa, Utica, Spring Valley, LaSalle, Peru, and Spring Valley.

Morris and places east of it will be in a district with Seneca.

Republicans opposed the map and urged him to veto it. They complained that they were shut out of the redistricting process and that the state should wait for 2020 census information.

Link: a Google Maps view of the districts

Region: Northern,Feeds,News,Region: La Salle

via d2674

June 4, 2021 at 03:26PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s